Nearby - What to do in KL

Little India

Little India

Brickfields is Malaysia’s official Little India and used to be a simple residential neighbourhoods just outside KL but was recently transformed into a wide street with Indian stores and restaurants run by the country’s Indian community. The shops here sell everything from traditional Indian goods to local delicacies.


Sri Mahamariamman

Founded in 1873, the Sri Mahamariamman Temple is the oldest and richest Hindu temple in Kuala Lumpur. Situated along Jalan Tun HS Lee, it’s hard not to miss Kuala Lumpur’s main Hindu temple as it is situated between two Buddhist temples at the edge of Chinatown, with beautifully preserved Spanish and Italian tiles, precious stones and gold in its design.


National Museum

National Museum of Malaysia, situated near the southern tip of the Lake Gardens, past the National Art Gallery, provides an excellent introduction to Malaysia’s history, economy, geography, arts, crafts and culture. Built in 1963, the museum overlooks Jalan Damansara and its highly informative displays are spread out onto three floors.

Little India

Pasar Seni

Also known as Central Market, is one of Kuala Lumpur’s most familiar landmarks, a shopping paradise, as well as a popular tourist attraction. Located along Jalan Hang Kasturi (a few minutes away from Petaling Street), it used to be a simple wet market in 1928 but in the early 1980s was revamped into a bustling handicrafts outlet.


National Planetarium

Situated in Lake Gardens, it is a learning centre dedicated to the exciting world of astronomy and science. Housing numerous interactive displays, this is a popular place for schoolchildren to learn about the planet and the universe. There is also a space theatre where documentaries on space or clips from iconic science-fiction films.


National Monument

Also known as Tugu Negara, it is a commemorative sculpture that stands on a marble base surrounded by a reflecting pool and water fountains. The bronze sculpture depicts a group of seven soldiers in various poses, each denoting one of seven qualities: courage, leadership, sacrifice, strength, suffering, unity and vigilance.


Line break